RSS

A Garden We Will Grow!

21 Jun

Er, something like that anyway. Since I’m all about being a bit thrifty, I’ve been slow to get my front landscape beds finished. I wanted more dirt and then would cover the area in newspaper for a weed barrier, and then plant a host of other plants I want to get from Bluestone Perennials.

But, my thriftiness has come at a cost. Since it’s taking so long, the front beds keep sprouting weeds and grass galore! A couple of days ago, I started working on digging out the junk again and finally realized that I should probably just throw SOMETHING in the beds to at least take up some space to prevent the weeds from going hog wild in there. So, I called up a friend and we made a trip to Lowes to see what kind of plants they had on clearance.

I scored a bunch of Vinca, some pink Thyme, a significant amount of Salvia, and a couple of Zinnias. I figured I could pair all these with the two purple Coleus plants and another Salvia I got from the Spring plant swap and at least add some color to the bed.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

That was just a small sampling of the plants I’d be working with for the area. I managed to get the plants for under $12 so I feel really good about the cost part of the endeavor, since I’m not exactly confident my thumb is green 😉 And these are special needs plants seeing as how they were on the clearance rack.

So I weeded out the bed….

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Yeah, and one of these days, I’ll actually get new shutters, but that’s not that important at the moment for this spendthrift.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Here’s the Salvia, Coleus, and the two lone Zinnias on the back row with the trench dug out for the Vinca.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

And here, everything planted, with the exception of the Thyme.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

It’s ultimately not what I want for the long term, but hopefully it’ll do well enough to at the very least, inspire me to give this bed a little more attention so as to not allow the grass and weeds take over again 😉

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Hopefully I can share another picture (or 4) in a couple of weeks that show how well the plants are doing. I did plant the Thyme this evening but neglected taking a picture of it. It was a 9-plug pack that I got for $1…so, it’s not all that thrilling to look at right now 😉 Hopefully I can save it though and it’ll spread like it should for further weed control.

Stay tuned!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2012 in Home and Garden

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “A Garden We Will Grow!

  1. Gail Greene

    September 5, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    I’m very proud of you. Don’t understand why you haven’t made any money from these blogs even though you do need the traffic. There is the post n courier too. Yahoo has blogs that can be a money maker. Even though we see God in a different perspective, I respect and admire you Chicka:-) And I love your picture at the desk.

     
  2. Alicia

    September 6, 2012 at 5:33 am

    Thanks Gail 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
